Explore Georgia Cities Historical Attractions - See enchanting historic sites in Jesup, Johns Creek, Jonesboro, Kingston, Kennesaw, Knoxville, Lakeland, Lexington, Louisville, Ludowici, Lula & Lumpkin.
Little Red Caboose - Step inside this little red train caboose for a healthy dose of Wayne County history, from General “Mad Anthony” Wayne to the railroad boom. Open: Monday - Fridat at 1-5 pm. Free tours.Amenities: Parking - Phone: 912-427-3233 – Address: 101 E Cherry St, Jesup Georgia 31545
Autrey Mill Nature Preserve and Heritage Center offers scenic creeks, picturesque cliffs, animals life and farmhouses from the 1800s and ongoing special children’s programs. Open: Daily 8 am until dusk. Visitor Center Mon - Sat at 10 am - 4 pm. Free admission.
Amenities: Parking, Public Restrooms, Accessibility for mobility-impaired, Party Facilities Phone: 678-366-3511 - Address: 9770 Autrey Mill Rd, Johns Creek Georgia 30022
Antique Funeral Museum - Margaret Mitchell Playhouse - Visitors can see a horse-drawn hearse, a pre-Civil War casket and antique Civil War embalming equipment. Visit the room where Mitchell played as a child. Amenities: parking, public restrooms and accessibility for mobility-impared. Open daily. Phone: 770-478-7211 - Address: 168 N McDonough St., Jonesboro Georgia
Patrick Cleburne Memorial Cemetery contains a mass grave housing 600 to 1400 Confederate soldiers. Headstones are laid out in the shape of the Confederate battle flag. The Patrick R. Cleburne Confederate Memorial Cemetery was named for the general whose remains were brought from St. John's Cemetery, Ashwood, Tennessee, in 1870. In 1891 a marble column was dedicated in his honor at the cemetery, and in 1892 this granite shaft was dedicated to the Confederate dead. Open dusk to dawn. Free admission. Phone: 770-478-4800 - Location: Corner of Jackson and McDonough St., Jonesboro Georgia
Govenor's House - Stroll this 1930s estate, which is complemented by gardens and a stained-glass chapel. Open: the 2nd Thurs. each Month for lunch 11:30a.m.-2:30p.m. or by appt. Free admission. Amenities: Parking, Public Restrooms, Accessibility for mobility-impaired, Food, Party Facilities. Phone: 770-336-9149 – Address: 45 Howard St., Kingston Georgia 30145
Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park - Civil War battlefield offers trails, recreation and picnicking facilities. Amenities: Parking and Public Restrooms. Welcome center is open daily from 8:30 am - 5 pm. Park is open from dawn to dusk. Free admission.Phone: 770-427-4686 - Address: 900 Kennesaw Mountain Dr., Kennesaw Georgia
Birthplace of John Pemberton - Creator of Coca-Cola formula.
Courthouse, rebuilt in 1851. Oldest courthouse in continuous use in Georgia. National Register of Historic Sites.
Knoxville Old Jail Museum - Built in 1834. On the National Register of Historic Places, this old jail has memorabilia, documents and local history from times gone by. Find out what it would have been like to be on the wrong side of the law. Free admission.Phone: 478-836-3825 - Address: Ga Hwy 42 S, Knoxville Georgia 31050
Texas Lone Star State Flag - Designed by Joanna Troutman in 1835 for Georgian to carry to Texas in their volunteer fight to help Texans win independence from Mexico. Historical marker stands on courthouse lawn.
Chattahoochee Valley Art Center and Gallery is the former Troup County Jail. It is now an arts resource for local galleries that focuses on contemporary American art. Open: Tue.-Fri. 9a.m.-5p.m., Sat. 11a.m.-5p.m. Call for tours. Amenities: Parking, Public Restrooms, Accessibility for mobility-impaired. Phone: 706-882-3267 – Address: 112 Lafayette Pkwy., LaGrange Georgia 30240
Lagrange Art Museum is the former 1892 Troup County Jail. It is listed in the National Historic Places. Museum is an arts resource for local galleries that focuses on contemporary American art. Open: Tues - Fri at 9am-5pm, and Sat at 11am-5pm. Call for guided tours. Free admission. Amenities: Parking, Restrooms, Accessibility for Mobility-impaired and Party Facilities. Phone: 706-882-3267 – Address: 112 Lafayette Square., LaGrange Georgia 30240
Milltown Murals - Twenty-three murals in the downtown area depict scenes of Milltown in 1925, the year this community was renamed Lakeland. Maps avail at Chamber of Commerce Phone: 229-482-9755 - Address: Main, Center, Murrell Sts. And Valdosta Hwy., Lakeland Georgia
Big Cloud Creek Covered Bridge - in Lexington, Georgia. Built in 1905, and is 168 feet long. Also known as Howard Bridge. Not open to traffic. Free for viewing.Phone: 706-743-3113 or 706-743-5270. Directions: From Athens, take Hwy. 72 east to Colbert, south to Smithsonia and east on Chandler Silver Road. In Watson Mill State Park in Oglethorpe County.
Market House was built at the crossing of two trails, the open-air building dates back to the late 1700s. In the center hangs a bell that was used to warn of Indian attacks. Open Daily. Amenities: Parking, Accessibility for mobility-impaired - Phone: 478-625-8134 – Address: Center of Broad St., Louisville Georgia 30434
Revolutionary Cemetery - Many Revolutionary War soldiers are buried in this National Register historic cemetery. Open daily. Free admission. Tours available. Amenities: Parking - Phone: 478-625-8134 – Address: GA Hwy. 24 W., Louisville Georgia 30434
The Fire House Gallery is located in a restored historic fire station. This stunning space attracts artists from the South and beyond. Wed.-Sat. 12-6 p.m. and Sunday from 1-5p.m.. Phone: 478-625-0387 – Address: 605 Mulberry St., Louisville Georgia 30434
Jones Creek Church Museum - This small museum features the slave gallery in the 1856 church building, original cemetery and 'baptism hole' in Jones Creek. Amenities: parking and public restrooms. Call for guide reservation. Free admission. Phone: 912-545-2437 or 912-545-9315 - Address: US Hw3y 301 N, Ludowici, Ga 31316
Lula Historic Covered Bridge in Gainesville, is Georgia’s smallest covered bridge. Not open to traffic. Built in 1915 and is 34 feet long. Also known as Blind Susie and Hyder Bridge. Free to see.Phone: 706-677-2108 and 800-638-5004 - Located on Antioch Church Rd., off GA Hwy 51. Lula Georgia 30554
Bedingfield Inn Museum is an 1836 Greek Revival museum that has original pioneer furnishings and an 1845 dogtrot house. Open: Daily. Call for hours. Cost: Adults $5, children $2. Call for tours and groups. Amenities: Parking, Public Restrooms Phone: 229-838-6419 - Address: 100 Cotton St, on the Square, Lumpkin Georgia 31815