Discover the Thomaston – Upson Archives in Thomaston Georgia
It covers everything from micro-film to yearbooks and dates back as early as 1824. With guidance from the Georgia Department of Archives and History, the Thomaston-Upson Archives was established in 1994.
History - With the cooperation and funding assistance of the City of the Thomaston-Upson Board of Education and the Upson Historical Society, the Archives opened in 1996. By working together, they have undertaken the task of cutting local government cost while preserving vital permanent records of the citizens of Thomaston.
The Thomaston-Upson Archives is housed in the former R. E. Lee Institute high school library, named the George A. Harrison Memorial Library. Professor Harrison was principal of R. E. Lee Institute from 1879-1886.
This Georgian-style building was designed by the architectural firm of Saggus, Williamson, Vaught, and Spiker of Atlanta, Georgia. Land for the library was given by Julian Hightower. In 1968, Community Enterprises, Inc., a foundation of Thomaston Mills, Inc., funded the construction of the library and three decades later furnished the Archives.
The Archives houses historic records as early as 1821, is a model for the state on joint cooperation and has earned many awards. Over 3,000 visitors and researchers travel from across the and from other countries to use its facilities. A full time archivist and professional staff and volunteers are available to assist patrons.
Open Mon.-Fri. 9a.m.-5p.m., and Second Sat. each month 9a.m.-1p.m. Free admission and parking.
Amenities - Restrooms, Accessibility for mobility-impaired