Discover Mark of the Potter in Clarkesville Georgia.
There is something always new to see and discover even though this little mill has not changed much over the years. See spectacular handmade pottery that are functional and artistic created by a local potters. They also offer locally made crafts, jams and jellies, books and more.
Amenities: Parking and Public Restrooms. Free admission and parking.
History - Several mills have lined the Soque river (pronounced "sew-quee") since the early 1800s for the milling of timber. A few mills have been built on this site, the first having been built in 1821 by Joseph Hill for the production of cornmeal. The Hills mill ceased production during the 1920s.
In 1928, Robert Watts, and his father, Allen "Grandpa" Watts purchased and reopened the mill, and opened a dry goods store across the road. Robert's wife, Letie, began to feed the trout that congregated at the bottom of the shoals to take advantage of the cornmeal that spilled from the mill.
In 1930, the Watts' decided to build a new mill. The foundation for the Hills' mill was used to support the generator house. The new mill ground corn for farmers and sold meal to the public. Even back then, Grandpa Watts' Mill was a favorite stop for travelers en route from Atlanta to the lakes.
Sadly, in the mid-1960s, a flood crested the banks of the Soque and ruined the machinery. The mill ceased operations and closed.
In 1968, John and Glen LaRowe "moved into" the Old Watts' Mill to settle down in North Georgia. After a gigantic renovation, John and Glen reopened the mill as a pottery shop and their home in the Spring of 1969.
The name "Mark of the Potter" was the outgrowth of careful thought and vision. Over 30 years later, the name still symbolizes the finest in handmade pottery, each original piece carrying the individual "mark," seal, or signature of each craft person. Mark of the Potter is now the oldest craft shop in Georgia.
Open at 10am-5pm January through March, and 10am-6pm during April through December.