Discover the McIntosh Sugar Hill Ruins in St. Marys Georgia.
The ruins of a tabby sugar works built by John Houston McIntosh at New Canaan Plantation in 1825. In his sugar house McIntosh installed what was, according to Thomas Spalding, the first horizontal cane mill worked by cattle power.
At the time the sugarhouse was constructed, it is believed that thick-walled buildings such as this tabby one built by John McIntosh were essential to ensure the warmth needed for superior sugar production.
McIntosh, born in 1773 in what is now McIntosh County Georgia, settled in East Florida as a young man and became the leader of a group of American citizens who, during the War of 1812, plotted the annexation of East Florida to the United States.
This plot crushed by the Spanish government, McIntosh removed to Georgia and acquired two plantations in Camden County, Marianna, where he built a home, and New Canaan, where he began the cultivation of sugar cane under the influence of Thomas Spalding, who had experimented in sugar production and seen the use of steam-propelled horizontal cane mills in Louisiana.
After McIntosh's death in 1836, New Canaan was sold to one Col. Hallowes, who changed the name of the plantation to Bollingbrook and lived there until after the Civil War.
During the war, Hallowes planted cane and made sugar in the McIntosh sugar house. He also used the tabby sugar works as a starch factory, producing arrowroot starch in large quantities.
Thomas Spalding was the great-grandson of John Mohr McIntosh.
Open daily from 8am until 6pm. Amenities: Parking, Restrooms, Accessibility for mobility-impaired. Free to visit and free parking.
Phone: 912-729-5600 - Located near Kings Bay Road on Spur 40 (Charlie Smith Sr., Hwy.), Downtown St. Marys